
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C1-01-927, CO-95-1475, ADM04-8001, CX-89-1863 

ORDER PROMULGATING CORRECTIVE 
AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF 
ADOPTION PROCEDUW, THE RULES OF 
GUARDIAN AD LITEM PROCEDURE IN 
JUVENILE AND FAMILY COURT, AND THE 
RULES OF JUVENILE PROTECTION PROCEDURE 

O R D E R  

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached corrective alllendments to the Rules 

of Adoption Procedure, the Rules of Guardian Ad Liteln Procedure in Juvenile and 

Family Court, and the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure are prescribed and 

plomulgated to be effective on .Januaiy 1, 2007, and shall apply to all actions oi 

proceedings pending on or c o ~ ~ u ~ ~ e n c e d  011 or after the effective date 

Dated: December 18, 2006 

BY THE COURT: 

OFFICE OF 
APPEL'ATE COURTS 

Russell A. Anderson 
Chief .Justice 



RULES O F  ADOPTION PROCEDURE 

RULE 6. REFEREES AND JUDGES 

Rule 6.07. Removal of Judge 

T Subd. 3. Notice to Remove. 
(a) Procedure. A party or the county attorney may file with the court and 

serve upon all other parties a notice to remove. The notice shall be served and filed 
within ten (10) days of the date the party receives notice of the name of the judge who is 
to preside over the proceeding, but not later than tlie commencenient of tlie proceeding. 

(b) Presiding Judge. A notice to remove shall not be filed against a judge 
who has presided at a motion or at any other proceeding in the matter of which the party 
had notice. A judge who has presided at a motion or other proceeding niay not be 
renioved except upon an affirlnative showing of prejudice on the part of the judge. 

(c) Sliowing of Prejudice. After a party or the countv attorney has once 
disqualified a presiding judge as a matter of right, that party may disqualify the substitute 
judge, but only by malting an affirmative showing of prejudice. A showing that the judge 
might be excluded for bias fro111 acting as a juror in the nlatter constitutes an affirmative 
showing of prejudice. 

(d) Assignment of Anotlier Judge. Upon the filing of a  notion to remove, or 
if a iikigai+t party or the county attolllev ~naltes an affirmative showing of prejudice 
against a substitute judge, the chief judge of the judicial district shall assign any other 
judge of any court within the district to hear the matter. If there is no other judge of the 
district who is qi~alified, the chiefjudge shall inlnlediately notify tlie Chief Justice of the 
Minnesota Suprenle Court, 

RULE 25. METHODS O F  FILING AND SERVICE 

Rule 25.01. Types of Filing. 

Subd. 3. Fees; Original Document. Within five (5) days after the court has 
received the facsilnile transmission, the party filing the document shall forward the 
followi~lg to the court: 

(a) a $5 $25transmission fee for each 50 pages, or part thereof. of the filing, 
unless otherwise pr.ovided by statute or rule or otherwise ordered by the court; 



(b) 
. . 

v e t m e i t  any bullcy exhibits or attachments; and 

(c) the applicable filing fee a, if any. 

If a paper is filed by facsimile, the sender's original illust not be filed but must be 
maintained in the files of the party transmitting it for filing and made available to the 
court or ally party to the action upon request. 

RULE 33. CONSENT TO ADOPTION 

Rule 33.07. Consent to a Direct Placement Adoption Under Minnesota 
Statutes § 259.47 

Subd. 3. Execution of Consent Before Judicial Officer - When Optional. A 
biological parent whose co~lsent to a direct placelnellt adoption is required under 
Minnesota Statutes 259.24 and who has received cou~lseling through a licensed agency or 
a licensed social services professiollal trained in adoption issues, or any other parent or 
legal guardian whose collse~lt to a direct placel~le~lt adoption is required under Milxlesota 
Statutes 259.24, subd. 2, ]nay choose to execute consent to the adoption under the 
procedures set fol-th in Minnesota Statutes 259.24, subd. 5, and Rule M 33.03, subd. 1 ,  
or at a consent hearing as described in subdivision 4. 

RULES OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM PROCEDURE 
IN JUVENILE AND FAMILY COURT 

RULE 90.3. APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM 

Rule 90.3.02. Juvenile Court Apppointment 

Subd. .3. Representation of Child's Parent or Legal Custodian. The court may 
sua sponte or upon the written or on-the-record request of a party or participant appoint a 
guardian ad liteln for a parent who is a party or the legal custodian if- cMe iwks  

(a) the court determines that the parent or l e ~ a l  custodiatl is incompetent to 
assist cou~lsel in the matter or u~ldersta~ld the nature of the proceedings; or 

(b) it appears at ally stage of the proceedings that the parent is under eighteen 
(18) years of age and is without a parent or legal custodian, or that considered in the 



context of the matter the minor parent's parent or legal custodian is unavailable, 
incompetent, indifferent to, hostile to, or 11as interests in conflict with the interests of the 
minor parent" 

Appointment of a guardian ad litem for a parent shall not result in discharge of 
counsel for the parent. 

RULE 905. GENERAL RESPONSIBILITIES O F  GUARDIANS AD LITEM 

Rule 905.02. Representation of Child's Parent o r  Legal Custodian 
In every inatter where the guardian ad litem is appointed to represent a parent or 

legal custodian under Rule 903.02, subd. 3, the guardian ad liten1 shall perfor111 the 
following responsibilities: 

(a) conduct an investigation to determine the facts relevant to the situation of 
the 11linor parent or incompetent adult and the family, which must include, unless 
specifically excluded by the court: 

L r e v i e w i n g  relevant documents; 
(ii) 111eeting with and observing the ~ninor parent or inconlpete~lt adult in 

the home setting and considering the minor parent's, or irtcornpetent adult's wishes, as 
appropriate; and 

b2__interviewing parents, caregivers, and otl~ers relevant to the case; 
(b) advocate for the minor parent's or i~~con~peten t  adult's best interests by 

participating in appropriate aspects of the case and advocating for appropriate co~nmunity 
services when necessary; 

(c) maintain the confidentiality of information related to a case, with the 
exception of sharing infonmation as permitted by law to pronlote cooperative solutions 
that are in the best interests ofthe minor parent or incompetent adult; 

(d) monitor the lninor parent's or incolnpetent adult's bests interests 
throughout the judicial proceeding; and 

(e) present written reports on the minor parent's or incompete~lt adult's best 
interests that include conclusions and recommendations and the facts up011 which they are 
based. 

RULES O F  JUVENILE PROTECTION PROCEDURE 

RULE 33. PETITION 

Rule 33.02. Content. 

* 'X 'L 



Subd. 2. Child in Need of Protection or Services Matters. 
(a) Petitions Drafted and Filed by County Attorney. A child in need of 

protection or services matter is defined in Minnesota Statutes 5 260C.007, subd. 6. All 
cliild in need of protection or services petitions shall be drafted and filed under the 
supelvision of the county attorney, except as provided in Milinesota Statutes 5 260C.141, 
subd. 1, and subdivisioll2(b) of this ntle. 

(b) Petitions Drafted and Filed By Others. 
(1) Petition Form. A child in need of protection or services petition 

filed by an individual who is not a county attorney or an agent of the Comnlissioner of 
Hunlan Services shall be filed on a form developed by tlie state court administrator. 
Copies of the f o ~ n i  shall be available from the court administrator in each county. 

(2) Additional Content Requirements for Petitions Not Filed by 
County Attorney. In addition to the colltent requirements set fort11 in subdivision 1, a 
petition filed by an individual who is not a county attorney or an agent of tlie 
Colnlllissioner of Huinan Services shall contain: 

(9 " u 

. . l , , r l n l , h r ; l , n - - p  
. . . &HHJF 

; 
(Lii) a statement, including court file numbers were possible, of 

pending juvenile or family court proceedings and prior or present juvenile or family court 
orders relating to the child; 

(fi iii) a statelnent regarding tlie relationship of the petitioner to the 
child and to any other parties; and . . . 

(111) a statement identifying any past or present cases illvolvilie the 
child or family that is the subiect of the petition. 

(3) Review by Court Administrator. Any petition filed by ail 
individual who is not a county attorney or an agent of tlie Comnlissioner of Human 
Services shall be reviewed by the court administrator before it is filed to determine 
whether it is complete. The court adnlillistrator nlay reject the petition as incomplete if it 
does not indicate that the petitioner has contacted the responsible social services agency. 

(4) Court Review. Within three (3) days of the date a petition is filed 
by a person who is not a county attonley or an agent of the Colninissioner of Hunian 
Services. the court shall review the uetition. If the court deterrnines that the uetition and 
attachnients establish a prima facie case that a child in need of protection or services 
nlatter exists and that tlie child is the subject of that matter, the court shall set the matter 
for an admitldeny hearing pursuant to Rule 34 and shall direct notice pursuant to Rule 32. 
The court shall not allow a petition to proceed if it appears that the sole purpose of the 
petition is to modify custody between the parents or if it fails to set forth the inforuation 
required in subdivisions 1 and 2(b) of this ~ d e .  

(c) Petition Based Upon Prima Facie Case. 
(1) When Required. 111 addition to the content requirements of 

subdivisions 1 and 2(b), a petition establishing a prima facie case that a child in need of 



protection or services matter exists and that the cliild is the subject of that matter sliall be 
filed witli the court: 

(i) before the court may issue an ex parte order for emergency 
protective care pursuant to Rule 28; or 

(ii) before an emergency protective care hearing is held pursuant 
to Rule 30 for a child talcen into emergency protective care without a court order. 

(2) Manner. The facts establishing a prima facie case that a child in 
need of protection or services matter exists and that the child is the subject of that matter 
may be set forth in writing in or with the petition, or in supporting affidavits, and may be 
supplemented by sworll testimony of witnesses talcen before the court. If such testimony 
is taken, a note stating this fact shall be made by tlie court on tlie petition. T11e testiniony 
shall be recorded pursuant to Rule 1 1. 

RULE 43. TERMINATION O F  PARENTAL RIGHTS MATTERS 

Rule 43.04. Voluntary Termination of Parental Rigl~ts  Matters 
The court shall co~lduct a hearing when a parent voluntarily consents to the 

termination of his 01 her parental rights. At the hearing, petitioner shall malce a prima 
facie showing that there is good cause for te~mination of parental lights and that it is in 
the best inte~ests of the child to terminate parental rights. 

If the parent is present in court, tlie court sliall advise the parent of the riglit to 
trial, the right to representation by counsel, and shall detemniine whether the parent fully 
understands the consequences of termination of parental rights and the alternatives to 
tertiiination. 

If the parent is not present in court but has signed a voluntary consent to 
ter~iiination of parental rights, the court shall determine whether, there has been 
compliance witli all statutory requirements regarding a written consent to terniination of 
parental rights and whether the parent was thoroughly advised of and understood the riglit 
to trial, the right to representation by counsel, the consequences of termination of parental 
rights, and the alternatives to termination. 

If the child is an Indian child, tlie consent of the parent or Indian custodian shall 
not be valid unless: 

(a) executed in writing; 
(b) recorded before the judge; and 
(c) accompanied by the presiding judge's certificate that the terms and 

consequences of the consent were explained in detail and were fully understood by the 
parent or Indian custodian. The court shall also certify that the parent or Indian custodian 
fi~lly understood the explanation in English or that it was Meqxekd translated into a 



language that the parent or Indian custodian understood. Any consent given prior to, or 
within ten days after, the birth of the Indian child shall not be valid. 

RULE 41. DISPOSITION 

Rule 41.05. Disposition Order  

Subd. 2. Content. 
(a) Mandatory Provisions. The court shall enter an order making one of the 

following dispositions for the child: 
(1) Protective Supervision. Place tlte child under the plotective 

supervision of the ~.esponsible services agency or child-placing agency in the home of a 
parent or legal custodian under conditions directed to correction of the child's need for 
protection or services?; 

(i) the court mav order the child into the home of a parent who 
does not otherwise have legal custody of the child, however, an order under this section 
does not confer legal custody on that parent; 

(ii) if the court orders the child into the I~ome of a father who has 
not been adjudicated as such, the order shall require the alleged or presumed father to 
cooperate with paternity establisl~n~ent proceedings regarding the child in the appropriate 
jurisdiction as one of the conditions prescribed by the court for the child to continue in 
his home; ~ICJ 

(iii) the court nlay order the child into the hoine of a noncustodial 
parent with conditions and nlay also order both the noncustodial and the custodial parent 
to coinply wit11 the ~equirements of a case plan under subdivision 2; 

(2) Transfer Legal and Physical Custody to Agency. Tlansfer legal 
custody to a child-placing agency or the rcsponsible social se~vices agency, which shall 
have legal lesponsibility for the child's placement in foster care, including inalcing an 
individualized determination of how the particular placeinent is in the child's best 
interests using the consideration for relatives and the best interest factors in Minnesota 
Statutes f j  260C.,212, subd. 2(b); or 

(3) Trial Home Visit. Order a trial home visit, as defined in 
Rule 2.01(x), without modifying the transfer of legal custody to the responsible social 
services agency under subdivision 2(a)(2) of this Rule; or 

(4) Special Services. If the child has been adjudicated as a child in 
need of protection or services because the child is in need of special services or care to 
tieat or ameliorate a physical or mental disability or emotional disturbance as defined in 
Minnesota Statutes f j  245.4871, subd 15, the court may older the child's parent, guardian 
ol custodian to provide it. The coril-t inay order the child's health plan company to 
plovide lnental heall11 selvices to the child. Minllesota Statutes fj 62Q.535 applies to an 



order for mental health services directed to the child's health plan conlpany. If the health 
plan, child's parent, or legal custodian fails or is unable to provide the treatment or care, 
the court nlay order it provided. Absent specific wlitten findings by the court that the 
child's disability is tile result of abuse or neglect by the child's parent or guardian, the 
court shall not transfer legal custody of the child for the purpose of obtaining special 
treatment or care solelv because the varent is unable to vrovide the treatment or care. If 
the court's order for mental health treatment is based on a diagnosis made by a treatment 
professional, the court may order that the diagnosing professional not provide the 
treatnlent to the child if it finds that such an order is in the child's best interests; or 

(5) Independent Living. Allow a child sixteen (16) years old or older 
to live independently under appropriate supervision, if the court determines that the child 
has sufficient maturity and judgment, and the responsible social services agency after 
consultation with the court has specifically authorized this altenlative. 

(6) Monitoring. When a parent has conlplied 'with a case plan and the 
child is in the care of the parent, the court lnay order the responsible social services 
agency to  ionit it or the parent's continued ability to ~naintain the child safely in the ho~ne  
under such ternis and conditions as the court determines appropriate under the 
circumstances. 

(b) Add i t io~~a l  Provisions. As pall. of the disposition order the court shall 
also: 

(1) approve or modify the plan for supervised or unsupervised visitation 
for the child's parent or legal custodian, relatives, and siblings of the child, if siblings are 
not in out-of-110111e placemel~t together, as set out in the out-of-home placement plan; the 
court may set reasonable rules for visitation that contribute to the oejectives of the court 
order and the maintenance of the fanlilial relationship; the court may deny visitatiotr 
when visitation would act to prevent the achievement of the court's disposition order or 
w o ~ ~ l d  endanger the child's physical or emotional well-being; 

(2) review the case plan, malce nlodifications supported by the evidence 
appropriate, and approve tlie plan; 

(3) order all parties to coniply with the approved case plan; 
(4) incorporate into the order by reference tlie approved case plan and 

attach a copy of the plan only i f i t  has been modified; 
(5) give notice to the parent on the record and in writing of the 

requirements of Minnesota Statutes $ 260C.201, subds. 11 and 1 la; and 
(6) set the date and time for the permanency placement detell~~ination 

hearing pursuant to Rule 42. 
(c) Habitual Truant and Runaway Matters. If the child is adjudicated in 

need of protection or services because the child is a habitual tl-uant or a runaway, the 
court may order any of the following dispositions in addition to or as alterllatives to the 
dispositions ordered under subdivisions (a) and (b): 

(1) counseli~lg for the child or the child's parent or legal custodian; 
(2) place the child under the supervision of a probation officer or other 

suitabte person in the child's own home under conditions prescribed by the court, 



including reasonable rules for the child's conduct and the conduct of the parent or legal 
custodian designed for the physical, mental, and moral well-being and behavior of the 
child; 

(3)  with the consent of the comillissioner of corrections, place the child 
in a group foster care facility that is under the commissioner's management and 
supervision; 

(4) subject to the court's supervision, transfer legal custody of the child 
to one of the following: 

(i) a reputable person of good moral character.; or 
(ii) a county probation officer for placenlent in a group foster 

honle established under the direction of the juvenile court and licensed pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes $241.021; 

( 5 )  require the child to pay a fine of up to $100, to be paid in a manner 
that will not inlpose undue financial hardship upon the child; 

(6) require the child to participate in a coi~ln~unity service project; 
(7) order the child to undergo a chemical dependency evaluation and, if 

warranted by the evaluation, order participation by the child in a diug awareness prograin 
or an inpatient or outpatient cl~ernical dependency treatment program; 

(8) order the commissioner of public safety to cancel the child's driver's 
license or perlnit or, for a child who does not have a driver's license or permit, order a 
denial of driving privileges for any period up to the child's 18th birthday; or 

(9) order the child's parent or legal custodian to deliver the child to 
school at the beginning of each school day for a period of time specified by the court. 


